"ELENA" - Hotel komplex - Elena
"ELENA" - Hotel komplex - Elena
Number of rooms: 60
Places to see nearby» May 28 - Gorna Oryahovitza public holiday
May 28 - Gorna Oryahovitza public holiday
The day of Gorna Oryahovitza has been celebrated on May 28 for decades. The town is the successor of the old fortress of Ryahovetz, which took its name from a walnut variety grown in the region. Some of the earliest information about the town dates back to 1444, when it was destroyed by Vladislav II Varnenchek. Gorna Oryahovitza is given some rights to implement commercial and craftsman activities by a royal decree from 1538. During this period, different crafts, such as furriery, homespun tailoring, smithery, goldsmith’s trade, cart-wright’s trade and saddle-making, flourish in the town. It gradually becomes renowned as a major commercial center. Gorna Oryahovitza plays a major role during the Bulgarian Revival. As early as 1822, the first monastery school was established in it, and in 1859 Ivan Momchilov set up the first class school, which marked the beginning of classical education in Gorna Oryahovitza. In 1869, the town already had its own cultural club, and two years later Elena Grancharov established the first female union Enlightenment. In 1868, the town became a “nahia” – a municipality, included in the structure of the Tarnovo “sandjak” (region). In 1870, it was officially given city rights. When Bulgaria was liberated from the Turkish yoke, Gorna Oryahovitza was already a town with 5700 population, 1200 houses, 5 churches and 6 schools.
The town of Elena
The town of Elena is situated in the picturesque Elenski Balkan. This Renaissance town rises in the beautiful valley of the Elenska river. In times gone, this romantic and quiet place was a centre of the struggle for ecclesiastic independence of Bulgaria. Here, cherished memories of the Bulgarian history are zealously kept, hoarded up in churches and monasteries. Unique nature and breathtaking scenery surround the site. The legend tells that centuries ago, in the lovely wood, bush-rangers attacked the marriage of Elena and Samuil. As Elena adhered to her husband, the attackers killed her, and Samuil was slaughtered in the place known now as Samuiletz. Deeply grieved, Elena’s parents settled here and founded the village named after their beloved daughter.
The Kapinovo monastery is one of Bulgaria’s biggest monasteries. It is situated in the Stara Planina mountain, some 24 km northwest from the town of Elena, by the river of Veselina. It is famous for an inscription on the cornice above the altar in the church, according to which the monastery was founded in 1272, during the ruling of king Constantine the Quiet (1257 – 1277). Following repeated destructions and restorations, the temple was rebuilt in 1835 by two self-taught masters from the town of Dryanovo. During the Bulgarian National Revival period, the Kapinovo monastery was one of the biggest enlightenment and revolutionary centers in Bulgaria.<br /><br />
Merdanski Monastery St. Forty Martyrs
The Merdanski Monastery “St. Forty Martyrs” is among the oldest sanctuaries in the Balkan Mountains. It was founded in 13 century during the Second Bulgarian kingdom and was renovated in 19 century. Now it is a going convent. It is situated in the Tarnovo Heights of the Central Predbalkan, at the western end of the village of Merdania, 10 km west of the town of Zlataritsa and 11 km south-east of the town of Lyaskovets. The monastery is a complex of Minster, residential and farm buildings. The Minster, 20x9 m, is a basilica with one apse, with a narthex and a dome on a high drum. It was built in 1867 with funds of Hadji Kesariy Horozov from the town of Elena, who became abbot of the monastery. The legend tells the monastery was built on the spot where the Patriarch of Tarnovo Joanikiy II gave a solemn welcome to Tsar Ivan Asen II after his glorious victory against the Byzantines at Klokotnitsa (March 9,1230), which happened on the feast of St. Forty Martyrs Sevastiyski. The monastery is a monument of culture.
Kabile Monastery Nativity of Holy Virgin Mary
The monastery Nativity of Holy Virgin Mary is situated near the archeological reserve Kabile, 6 km from the town of Yambol. In late antiquity (4-5th century) Kabile was a big religion center. During the reign of Emperor Constantine the Great there was a monastery here, about 1 km away from the present reserve. The legend tells that Queen Elena often sent her men to bring her water of the curable spring nearby. Later the monastery became an orthodox nunnery and was inhabited until the Ottomans conquered Bulgaria at the end of 14th century. Although the monastery was destroyed, local people never forgot the story of the magic spring. In 1918 an old woman from Sliven found the spring after a prophetic dream. Supported by generous men, a small chapel was built there. The constuction of the monastery began in 1918 and ended in 1944. Now the cloister is nunnery, and the temple holiday on September 8 gathers lots of Christians. Most of them come here believing that the holy spring of the monastery will bring them health and longevity.
The Assumption of Virgin Mary Church – the town of Elena
The Assumption of Virgin Mary Church is one of the most prominent attractions in the town of Elena (North Bulgaria, Veliko Tarnovo district). The church is a unique architecture and art monument from the National Revival Period. It raises in one and the same yard with the St. Nikola church. It was constructed over the ruins of an old temple by the initiative of rich Elena-citizens. The building started in 1836 and was completed in 1838. The construction was performed by master Miho of the Gorni Bolerci hamlet, neat Elena. It is entirely built by stone, using the material of the destroyed fortress. The impressive size (33 m length, 21 m width, and 25 m in height) and architecture of the temple make it one of the most important examples of the church construction from the National Revival Period. It was the biggest temple in Northern Bulgaria by the Liberation (1878) and is still one of the biggest in the country. The belfry tower is a separate construction built 1912.
St. Constantine and Helena Church in Plovdiv
The old churches are an integral part of the architectural face of Plovdiv. Most of them were repaired in the middle 19th century. The Church St. Constantine and Helena Church raises above the ruins of the antique fortress in the Old City. There was a Christian sanctuary here yet in the beginning of 4th century. The church was renovated in 1832, and is a typical example for the church architecture from 19th century. In 1830 the adobe walls of the church were all ruined. This imposed destroying the temple and building a new one. The new church was of the biggest of the time. The unique iconostasis was made in Vienna by Bulgarian master. The oldest Plovdiv church has protected during the centuries a lot of valuables of the middle age icon painting. One of them is the small wonder doing icon of St. Constantine and Helena. The local people tell a number of legends about its magical influence.
Maryanski monastery The Holy Transfiguration
The Maryanski monastery The Holy Transfiguration is located some 4 km away from the town of Elena, Veliko Tarnovo district. A monastery has erected here yet in 8ht-9th century, which is evidenced by the six capitals of columns found here, four of which are now in the National museum of history, and two are kept in the monastery. The today’s church was built in 1835. During the diggings, the foundations of an old Christian temple were found, and a marble sarcophagus was found in the altar, were lied a skeleton with a Gospel and crown. Some people think that this may be the grave of the King Boris. According to another story the Queen Mara, the sister of King Ivan Shishman, stayed in the monastery before leaving for Constantinople to marry sultan Murad. After the sultan died she came back in the monastery. Probably the monastery was named after the Queen Mara. The nowadays monastery is active from 1992. Some of the biggest and most beautiful icons from the Elena clerical district, painted by the old masters from the Tryavna School, may be seen here.
The Kurilo Monastery St. Ivan Rilski
The Kurilo Monastery St. Ivan Rilski is situated at the beginning of the Iskar Gorge, on the right bank of Iskar River, 15 km away from Sofia. It was founded in 9-10th century, near the old Bulgarian fortress Beligrad. The Monastery is one of the oldest in the Sofia Eparchy. In 15th century – the beginning of the Ottoman slavery, it was destroyed. The Kurilo Monastery was rebuilt by monks in 1593 and was painted by Pimen Zografski Sofiyski in 1596. Today you can see the pictures of the Virgin Mary, Jesus Christ, John the Baptist, Constantine and Elena, the scenes – the New-testament Trinity and the Slaughter of the Infants. The small church has one-hall, measurements - 15 x 5,5 meters. Аccording to the legend, the relics of St. Ivan Rilski stayed there for a while during their transportation from Tarnovo to the Rila Monastery in 1469. In the beginning of the 20th century the monastery was in its prime, and there were 40 nuns in it. During the same period, a printing-press for Christian literature was operating there. The monastery was declared a monument of the culture. Today it is open, but with limited access for visits.
Customers looked at this hotel: 3889
Two-stars hotel in Elena
Show nearest hotels in Elena