family hotel Avalon - Asenovgrad
family hotel Avalon - Asenovgrad
Number of rooms: 11
Check-in time after 14:00
Check-out time before 12:00
We will hold your booking until 24:00
No pets allowed
In cases, when the hotel refuses to provide the service for your reservation upon arrival after confirmed booking, PS TOUR Ltd. is obliged to to offer you an alternative of comparable parameters.
Questions and additional information
If you have any further questions about your reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us by tel. +359 700 11 881 (09:00-17:30 h. - monday-friday), skype: ok-booking, email@example.com
PS Tour Ltd., Bourgas 8000, 1, Al. Veliki Str.
Places to see nearby» Asenova fortress
The picturesque Asenova fortress is situated 2-3 km south of the town of Asenovgrad, in the foot of the Rhodopi mountain. The earliest archeological finds in the region date back to the V-IV century B.C., when the thracians built their fortifications here. It was inhabited during the Roman and early Byzantine era too. The first written evidence of the fortress’s existence could be found in the Statutes of the Bachkovo monastery (IX century), where it is called “the fortified village of Petrich”. It is also mentioned by some other chroniclers, who describe it as a well-run beautiful town. The fortress reached its efflorescence during the ruling of Tzar Ivan Assen II (XIII century), which is the reason why the fortress was named after him. The nearby town Stanimaka was also renamed to Asenovgrad, which continues to be the town’s name nowadays. Exactly in this period, following orders of the king, the most interesting and impressive part of the fortress was built – the church St. Bogoroditza Petrichka. This church is one of the most precious samples of Bulgarian sacral architecture. Mural paintings from the XIV and XIX century are preserved in it. St. Bogoroditza Petrichka was restored in 1934 and 1985, and the mural paintings – in 1991, which is when the church received the status of a functioning temple.
Temple - chapel St. John the Baptist
The medieval chapel St. John the Baptist (known as “the St. Yani Chapel”) in Assenovgrad dates from the same time as Bachkovo monastery (11th century). Perched on a hilltop in the western side of Assenovgrad, St. Yani chapel is part of an ensemble of nearby chapels and lends a medieval charm to this part of the town. A valuable wall painting of St. John the Baptist dating from 13-14th century was recently revealed and restored. The chapel is actually inaccessible from north and northwest directions because of its unique location. It has been built for a first time during 11-13 centuries. It is one of the most important national cultural monuments. The chapel was renovated in 2000.
Belentash – Rhodopi mountain
The rock massif Belentash is situated some 60 km away from the city of Plovdiv, near the villages of Vrata and Sini Vrah in the Rhodopi mountain. It is a rock plateau, 300 m in length, 35-45 m in width and 50 m in height. The upper platform of the rock is absolutely flat and smooth, as though it has been cut with a knife. There are weird pits and channels in it, which form the map of the starry sky and the constellations. There are also three wells cut into the plateau, which are absolutely smooth regular cylinders. Many myths and mystical stories are being told about Belentash. The name of the rock is of Turkic language origin, and means “smart rock” or “the rock of knowledge”. People think that once this place was one of the big ancient Thracian sanctuaries in the Rhodopi mountain. A unique silver plate with the face of god Sabasius has been discovered in the region of Belentash. Scientists believe that somewhere in the rock the ancient library containing the knowledge of the ancient Thracians is hidden.
Belintash Rock Phenomenon
Belintash rock phenomenon lies in the heart of the Rhodope Mountains, 30 km south of the town of Asenovgrad. Some say the name of the rock plateau means “stone of knowledge”, others hold it means “rock of war”, and there are people thinking Belintash is the Rhodope Stonehenge. The southern side of the phenomenon looks like a human profile that is believed to protect the unique natural phenomenon from treasure-hunters and malevolent visitors. According to some explorers the human hand-made work here represents one of the oldest astral maps, dating back to 7,000 years ago. Belintash is probably the only sanctuary in Bulgaria related to god Sabazios worshipped by the Thracian tribe Bessi, who once inhabited the site. Sabazios is the god later called Dionysos by the Greeks – the god of fertility and wine. According to historic data, here the ancient people committed sacrifices and auguries. At the foot of the mountain a silver sanctuary plate of the god was found. It represents Sabazios sitting on a throne against the background of snakes creeping upwards, representing the upward development of the human being and the circle of life. Local men say the magnetic field here is very strong and it is quite dangerous to stand on the plateau during thunderstorms.
The monastery St. Kirik and Julita
The monastery St. Kirik and Julita is situated above the town of Asenovgrad, in the north slopes of Rodopa Mountain, in the middle of beautiful broad-leaved forest, where you can see the whole Thracian lowland from. There is information that it was built in the 14th century near a healing spring. The monastery St. Kirik and Julita is the largest in the Rodopa Mountain. It was destroyed and burnt down several times. In its today appearance it was rebuilt in 1819. It is a complex of a church, surrounded by massive two-storey buildings. The monastery church St. Petka is a large three-hall, one-dome temple with a narthex. The church was sanctified in October 15, 1850. During the struggles for national ecclesiastical independence the monastery belonged to the Greeks until the 1930, when it became Bulgarian property again. In 1943-1944 it was turned into a concentration camp St. Kirik. After a basic reconstruction, in September 24, 1985 the president of the Bulgarian Union of Architects, Georgi Stoilov, officially reopened the monastery. In the beginning it was used as a rest and art base of the Union. Now the monastery is a three-star hotel.
The second largest Bulgarian monastery, the Bachkovo cloister, lies in the valley of the Chepelare river (also known by the locals as Chaya), about 10km to the south of the town of Assenovgrad. On all sides, the monastery is surrounded by the hills of the Rhodopi mountain, which together with its size and ancient spirit make is one of the most visited monasteries in Bulgaria. The complex and its neighbourhood have grown into a developed tourist sight where dozens of small shops, stalls, and restaurants stand on both sides of the walkway to the gates and appeal with their variety to visitors. One can find here everything that grows or is being manufactured in the Rhodopi mountain – rare herbs, home-made jams of wild fruit, yogurt and white cheese made of sheep or buffalo’s milk, woolen carpets, etc. The monastery was founded in 1083 by the Byzantine military commander of Georgian origin, Grigorii Bakuriani and his brother Abazii.
Customers looked at this hotel: 3926
Two-stars hotel in Asenovgrad
Show nearest hotels in Asenovgrad